Opinions, musings, and ravings from the mind of John Percy

Musing on Lunacy

I was looking out my studio window last night as the full moon rose over the lake and at a certain position in the sky, the moon was reflected perfectly in the mirrored lake. So there I was on Christmas staring at two perfect moons, one right above the other, and it was so breathtaking that I didn’t bother to take a picture. I just took it in, not just with my eyes but with my heart as well. It was…well…joyous.

This is a rare occurence as the last Christmas full moon was in 1977, when I was 28 years old. I’m pretty sure I missed that one. I was busy. The next Christmas full moon will be in 2034, and, given my present age, there’s a very good chance that I’ll miss that one too.

So I just stood there and appreciated the hell out of it for five minutes. It doesn’t seem like a lot of time, and indeed these days five minutes is only worth 30 seconds anyway, but just being there and observing this moment of beauty felt like an hour. (Note to self: send Einstein a thank you card for his theory of relativity).

One of the paradoxes of life is that as we run out of time, the more significant each moment becomes.

Enjoy each moment and your lifetime will take care of itself.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

